

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION



Connecticut Freedom of Information Commission • 18-20 Trinity Street, Suite 100 • Hartford, CT 06106 Toll free (CT only): (866) 374-3617 Tel: (860) 566-5682 Fax: (860) 566-6474 • www.ct.gov/foi • email: foi@ct.gov

January 30, 2015

Benjamin Barnes Secretary Office of Policy and Management 450 Capitol Avenue Hartford, CT 06106

Dear Secretary Barnes:

This letter is written in response to the Governor's letter dated January 22, 2015 asking that the Freedom of Information Commission ("FOIC") voluntarily achieve an additional savings of \$16,570 (or 1%) of its \$1,657,036 line item appropriation for fiscal year 2015.

You will recall that the FOIC agreed last November to a first round of voluntary reductions in the amount of \$16,570 (or 1%) for fiscal year 2015 as well. These reductions pose significant challenges for the FOIC, as it is a very small entity with only one program – to administer and enforce Connecticut's FOI Act - and therefore has very little programmatic flexibility. However, the FOIC remains deeply committed to helping ease the state's current fiscal crisis and to be a partner in solving it. It is in this spirit of commitment that, barring any unforeseen fiscal exigencies, the FOIC will attain efficiencies wherever possible and again voluntarily agree to achieve the sought after savings requested by the Governor.

Please feel free to contact me should you have any questions.

Very truly yours,

Colleen M. Murphy Executive Director and General Counsel Cc:

Governor Dannel P. Malloy

Senator Martin M. Looney, President Pro Tempore

Representative J. Brendan Sharkey, Speaker of the House

Senator Bob Duff, Senate Majority Leader

Representative Joseph Aresimowicz, House of Representatives Majority Leader Senator Leonard Fasano, Senate Minority Leader

Representative Themis Klarides, House of Representatives Minority Leader

Senator Beth Bye, Co-Chair Appropriations Committee

Representative Toni Walker, Co-Chair Appropriations Committee

Carol Carson, Office of State Ethics

Michael J. Brandi, Elections Enforcement Commission

Shelby Brown, OGA Executive Administrator

Gloria Davis-Delancy, OGA Fiscal Manager

Alan Calandro, Office of Fiscal Analysis

Grant Gager, Office of Fiscal Analysis